Chicken and Dumplings

Tonight I made homemade chicken and dumpling and it was a hit! So here is the recipe:

I used chicken 4 legs and thighs of each (use a whole chicken if making a large meal) boiled them in water enough to cover and seasoned it with Mrs. Dash, seasoned salt pepper and italian herbs. Boil until cooked and falling off bone.

Heat oven to 350°

Remove from pan and strip chicken off and place in casserole dish.

Take a 1/4 cup of flour and 3 cup of the stock from the chicken and put in pot to boil and stir constantly until thick add more flour if needed until smooth consitancy.

Place any vegatables in dish, I use frozen green beans or peas or whatever is in the freezer.

Pour the sauce over the chicken and stir until everything is mixed.

For the dumplings I used this recipe I got off Cooks.com

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
4 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons butter
3/4 cup milk

Combine ingredients. I had to use a little more milk to make it to the proper consistancy I added it a tablespoon at a time. Place the dough by spoonfuls on the top of the chicken mixture or use your hands to make the dough balls and put in oven bake till they are browned on top. About 2o minutes Enjoy!!!!!

About onlyemajine

I am a women who knows what she wants and likes. I am not afraid to say my opinion. I am a wife, mother, cook, teacher, and friend. I love to cook, bake, crochet and dance like a fool. Family and friends are what makes my life so fullfilled and everyday I always say you can Only Emajine!
This entry was posted in The Oven Mitt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment